What is your favorite shell? Why?

• Bash
  • Dash
  • Fish
  • Zsh
  • Other

0 voters

1 Like

I’ve been using ZSH and spaceship prompt along with a few scripts. Why? Not sure, honestly. It’s probably just due to the theme. I wonder all the time if I’m not just better off scraping it and typing git status for every directory I enter :sweat_smile:

My favorite shell is Kraft because its the cheesiest! :stuck_out_tongue:

8 Likes

Bash because I’m old and set in my ways.

2 Likes

I’m there with you. This is my theme song. Old and in the Way. Any Dead Heads will recognize this.

Bash because it’s what loads in my distros, as of now.

1 Like

bash, I guess. It seems pretty widely adopted and documented, also the LFS build uses it. I don’t really like shell programming myself, because my background is in software development though I occasionally enjoy systems admin too. For that reason I’m sticking to bash for now, to learn it thoroughly; thereafter if I get quite confident I might start using something else if I see a compelling use-case for it. I’m not sure I will though unless it’s just for CLI basics rather than scripting.

Bash. Because, um, it’s popular???

1 Like

This is one of those questions that I find funny, because I’ve never used anything other than bash. However, up until a couple of years ago, I didn’t know there was anything other than bash. And I have yet to hear a compelling reason to try a different one, thus, I’m still using bash…

2 Likes

Have always used bash, but recently I switched to Zsh. I use Starship as my prompt since it has the look I like compared to the prompt I created for bash and it’s written in Rust.

3 Likes

@tryton-vanmeer Obligatory favorite/like/heart for mentioning Rust :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

I’ve never felt like bash was lacking enough to seek a change though i’ve never heard the arguments either.

1 Like