What is the most ideal Linux CAD software for an Engineering student?

I’m a Mech Engg student from Kenya, going on with classes right now and was wondering about a good CAD software I can use on my Linux system.

Hello and welcome!

I’m not a cad user, but a quick glance tought me this:

Some of them are mentioned above, but have others in the list as well:

Which is best? I honestly wouldn’t know. But it can’t hurt to install and try a few and see what comes closest to what you want.
Maybe others can chime in with their experience?

2 Likes

I don’t have much CAD experience but MarkOfCain wrote a good piece about openSCAD, looks very approachable.

1 Like

The challenge with openSCAD is that it’s totally code based. There’s no GUI interface that allows you to click an icon of a geometric shape and drag it to your specifications. You have to start with coding a geometric shape (albeit, it is very simple to do so) and then position that shape in the 3d space – again with code. What I like about it is that it’s by nature totally parametric – meaning I can set the size and positions with variables and easily modify the drawing with pin-point accuracy by changing the variables (with is bliss if you’re a coder).

You have to know the limitations of this program. I can readily generate components of standard geometric shapes. This would be a nightmare of a program to use if you want to design a complex amalgamation of objects like a vehicle.

3 Likes

Unless you’re a prodigy, I don’t think you’re going to get through classes with openscad. We had to use Solidworks back in the late 2000s and I’m sure schools probably use similar.

Edit: @MarkofCain got in there before I did with words I agree with.

1 Like

I agree. CAD software is dominated by AutoCAD and Solidworks. I’ve used AutoCAD and Solidworks . I prefer Solidwork but . His school will generally pick one of those two. The majority of companies will use one of those and proficiency in their use is a must for MSEE