Tiling WMs

I’m just getting into them and have landed in i3 while using it for about a week. Honestly having a great experience figuring out the work flow, and I confident it has increased my efficiency, not surprisingly from the theory behind it. Started with AwesomeWM and probably would still be using it if it weren’t for an unrelated issue that resulted in my nuke and pave to another instance of ArcoLinux with i3. I know there are differences between them, but I’m not privy to them.

Does anyone else use a tiling wm? Which ones have you used? Favorites? Why?

1 Like

I currently use i3-gaps. It’s just the same as i3wm, except that you can set keys to add gaps between the windows.

My entire desktop environment consists of i3-gaps, Polybar for a panel, dmenu for my menu, and xfce-polkit for an authtentication agent.

I have yet to try any other tiling window manager. I like this one because it allows good layouts for development, and still allows me to use floating windows when I want.

1 Like

I use i3-gaps on Manjaro. Very nicely assembled community edition. I use rofi as dmenu because it can show app icons and recognizes flatpaks/snaps/appimages automatically.

2 Likes

I only tried i3.
I used dwm and spectrwm on my retired laptop. They are my two favorite dynamic window managers of all time. Why? Because they are simple. Dwm has to be recompiled every time you change the config, funny, but it works great. Spectrwm is configured in just a plain text file.

1 Like

Sway on Fedora using a shell script for the launcher and alacritty. (reference from here, Wayland menu for Sway? · Issue #1367 · swaywm/sway · GitHub)

1 Like

I love using i3 on low end machines, especially if screen isn’t big either. I spent a lot of time on it, back when I was using my old laptop.