[Resolved] Unable to install Guest additions in VBox 6.1

Linux newbie here. Host OS is Ubuntu 21.04. I want the Guest OS to be Kubuntu 21.04 but when I try to install Kubuntu into VBox, the screen is chopped off and I can’t resize it to see all the buttons to continue the install. See this https://imgur.com/a/C6C3CSr for all the details. It’s not letting me install Guest Additions.
How to fix this? I tried unmounting but that didn’t work.
These websites did not help. VirtualBox (VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED) - 6.4. Installing the VirtualBox Guest Additions -

My first question would be: what version of VB are you using?
On a side note, can you move the screen in your vb with your mouse? (aka: drag the screen from left to right?)
Could you upload a picture with better quality please? This one isn’t very readable. (at least not for me).

1 Like

Sure VBox = Virtual Box 6.1. I think it’s the latest.

Tried and unable to.

Sure. Here’s the individual pics.

Thank you. This seems to be a common problem. I’ve found a possible solution,
Quote: “A simple solution is to open a terminal in Ubuntu, and then type below command:”
sudo apt-get install virtualbox-guest-additions-iso
here: VirutalBox: VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED cannot mount guest additions iso – Xinyustudio
And another possible one:
linux - VBox Guest Additions ISO can't be mounted because of VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED - Super User

Let us now if that helped. If not, i’ll have a go at installing this myself in a vm.

2 Likes

Got an error message. See image.

Allright. I’ll have a go at it myself and will report back.

1 Like

Ok, so i got one running in just under 15min, and so can you.
Here’s how i did this. (I’m running Linux Mint 20).
First, remove your old version and download and install a fresh (newest) version of Virtualbox.

First one on the list, the base packages.
Install.
Next, download the extensionpack (6.1.24) and have it installed with Virtualbox.