Linux Laptop Brand Recommendations

Hey there. I’m new to the awesome Destination Linux Network. I’m looking for a recommendation for a Linux laptop. I don’t play graphic intensive games (I have a Nintendo Switch for gaming), I mostly surf the net. I don’t want to spend more than $1000 US. I use a laptop that originally ran Windows 8, I upgraded to Windows 10 but didn’t like all the crashes and automatic updates. So, after the warranty ran out I installed Linux and haven’t looked back since. Right now I’m running Xubuntu 19.10 and loving it ! I’m asking because this is an old laptop and I might need a new one one of these days. Thanx and have a great day !

I’m always a fan of buying from a company that actually ‘makes’ Linux computers (see System76, Dell, etc) - vs buying a Windows computer and installing Linux on it (see Lenovo, most other mfgs).

Of course, not knowing if your in the US or elsewhere, this is a bit harder, as I wouldn’t suggest buying from a company you have to import from (as it’s much more expensive)

If you are in the US, System 76 has 2 laptops that are at the high end of your spectrum, the Darter and the Galago Pro - both come with an i5 4.2 ghz processor with 8gb of memory.

If you are in the EU area, I would look into Entroware…

Although, having said all that - if you really ‘mostly’ surf the net - maybe even look at getting a Pinebook Pro - for $199, its a solid computer (from what I’ve heard regarding the DLN reviews) that runs linux like a champ and probably do 90% of your basic computer needs!

1 Like

Budget $500-600 you could get a ryzen
Lenovo Flex 14 - Asus Vivo AMD my preference
$1000
My favorites MSI Alpha 15 - ASUS TUF505DU-EB74

As a European I would also suggest Entroware or Slimbook if you want something nice, shiny and new. I like Dell laptops and if I had money I would buy an XPS with Ubuntu.

Though personally I buy used hardware with no OS installed and install my Linux distro of choice, mostly on Dells and old Thinkpads.