What fun stuff is the Linux Desktop missing? Which isn't a video game? Show your imagination, please :)

If you could see more “gamification” of the Linux desktop, what would you imagine there being?

For example, here is what I would imagine (and I’m not a developer, BTW). I’d like to see a Desktop Utility (amongst all the other Desktop Preferences/Settings) which shows the successful testing of joystick buttons (and a diagram of the detected joystick, if possible), which would show a funny cartoon character reacting to joystick button presses in various ways. There’s Creative Commons Art available for this from artists like Tyson Tan:

So when you press the X button, for example, this character would stick out its tongue. Pressing L trigger button makes the character point at their mouth with the left hand. Pressing R trigger button makes the character point to their mouth with the right hand. You get the idea.

What would this be good for? Say, making sure the new rumble pack works in the 8Bitdo Sn30 Pro+ Bluetooth Gamepad (which is the case as of Linux 5.9, mainlined thanks to Microsoft). The character would jiggle around a bit at that time.

2 Likes

I just want a music app that can do everything iTunes can do.

2 Likes

Well, maybe someone can make a Raspberry Pi (like maybe a 3A) into an iPod-like device (with screen, and Jog-wheel-like hardware buttons, and some 18650 batteries, and 3D-printed case), then invent a truly sane, open protocol by which it would sync (over USB) music, podcasts, photos, transcoded videos, mini-apps (formatted for that screen, and those hardware buttons), etc. Then your envisioned app would speak that protocol towards the Raspberry Pi iPod clone.