Two different flavor of Distros dual boot

I’ve done distro dual boots on same drive before that worked both Ubuntu based, now I tried Manjaro Xfce and pclinuxos KDE in different hard drives first one SSD, second HDD did not work, ended up wiping and starting new, I did not partition second HDD would this help? I am a newbie learning as I go!

How big are your drives? I’ve always used gparted to partition my drive before adding another distro, I don’t trust the installer. I use gparted to shrink my 1TB drive and add another 250 for another distro. Then use the installer, and pick which partition to install into. Then one is my main, and it’s grub gets updated and has both distros when it boots…

Good luck with it…

One computer has 240gb SSD and a 750gb HDD 7200, I’ve been able to boot two ubuntu distros one on each drive, but when I try Manjaro Xfce and pclinuxos KDE the one replaces the boot menu and it makes a mess.

If you have the new distros installed, go into the one that boots and do sudo update-grub, it should search out the new ones, and give a list with all of them when it boots

2 Likes

If you’re distro hopping, then a 20-30gb linux partition is plenty (most installations run between 6 and 10 gb). Then have a large /home partition (located next the install or on a different drive even) which you don’t format when you install or remove another distro) and just use user account names and logins like: ChrisArch, ChrisUbuntu, ChrisFedora. You’ll end up with /home/ChrisArch … folders and the like… separate from the linux install and where all personal files/media/VMs are kept, and the ones relative to that distro (settings files, they’re usually hidden). I’ve never had problems accessing the information in adjacent user accounts from other installs.

If you’re using MBR bios you can have 4 primary partitions or 3 and a logical or extended partition where you may have additional partitions.