Starting out with CISA cert

Greeting all,

I am a teacher but I have a friend who is starting up a security company and wants me on board. She is confident that I will be able to get the necessary certs, CISA being what she has told me. It would basically be red team work, she says. I’m definitely interested in pursuing this but my tech knowledge is, while not minimal, very scatter-shot in nature.

I have set up and used Ubuntu, Mint, Bodhi, Whonix and TAILS. I get old laptops from friends and set them up (usually w Bodhi) and give them to students who need them. I’m a DLN listener but don’t always understand everything I hear but usually can Google up an explanation of it is something that catches my interest. I do the same with other tech podcasts (Cyberlaw and Privacy/OSINT mainly, and defcon talks).

So my question is where should I start to get a more systematic knowledge of security? I have set up Kali on a USB as well as in a VM, and I’m like “now what?”

Any and all thoughts and advice are appreciated!

1 Like

To be honest, security professionals are expected to have a very sound, deep IT background or knowledge. There’s really no such thing as an entry-level security position.

I think several of the CompTIA certs cover specific areas that a security professional should know cold, including Network+ and Security+. Those two provide a very solid foundation from which to build a security program of study. I am Security+ and CySA+ certified. CySA+ is blue team related, so you don’t need that one. I believe that CompTIA does have a Pentesting related cert and I’m sure that would have good red team content.

I’m not familiar with the content or the prerequisites for the CISA cert, I think Net+, Sec+, and the pen testing cert would be an excellent way build a solid foundation toward preparing yourself for the CISA cert.

1 Like