[solved] Ubuntu 21.04. Does apt update and apt upgrade work on all apps?

Newbie here. About 3 weeks ago I switched from Windows 10 to Ubuntu 21.04. Occasionally I do ‘sudo apt update’ and ‘sudo apt upgrade’. Does this update/upgrade all my apps? If not, how can I tell which apps are not getting updated/upgraded?

I want to keep all my apps up to date. I have installed a few snaps, flatpaks and appimages. I’ve also downloaded and and installed some .deb files.

1 Like

Someone will be along here shortly to correct me if I am wrong, but apt will only update/upgrade apps it installs. The apps that apt has access to is controlled by repositories listed under /etc/apt/sources With that being said, some distro’s have a gui package manager that works with flatpaks and snaps, but you’ll have to confirm that.

It’s my understanding that appimages and anything else installed outside of any package manager (apt or any gui package manager) will have to be updated manually.

When looking to install apps, I would suggest that you look to see if the application has a repo that can be added so that apt can manage the updates.

1 Like

Thanks @Mr_McBride and @astronautsupplier This helps a lot. With this info I think I can now make a list of the apps that apt and snap doesn’t handle, which is what I needed.

Could you mark this topic as resolved? Thanks.

Good info from @Mr_McBride and @astronautsupplier.

Here is the direct link to the Ubuntu documentation on updating packages:

Working with apt-get

Working with repositories

One additional piece of info that sometimes gets skipped over is that the version of an installed application is controlled by the repository.

Example: Inkscape

You see and hear the news about Inkscape version 1.1 being available. You want to use that version so you enter:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install inkscape