Solus Dropping GTK, Purism 🤦🏻‍♂️, Kali Linux, Linux Mint | This Week in Linux 168

2 Likes

I’d definitely be interested in a more in depth look at purism. I’m not sure if they’re completely incompetent, or malicious. Definitely something funky going on there

Personally I don’t mind a little bit of editorializing, as long as it’s clear that it’s happening, which @MichaelTunnell did pretty effectively in this episode (IMO).

This recent insight into the Gnome devs’…interesting…view of their project and users in general has done a pretty thorough job of convincing me I’ll never use Gnome again. It just feels toxic to me now. Way to alienate your end users. I am a former software developer (and thus one of those anointed users who could contribute back and earn --at least in Tobias’ mind-- some sort of agency to criticize the Way of Gnome) but I won’t. My time isn’t worth contributing to someone like that. It’s a shame too. It was a slick looking desktop at one point.

::Quick update:: I just got into the DLN Xtend episode and wanted to add that even though Tobias may just be one developer, I agree with the DLN statement that putting this on the official Gnome page makes it sound as though he speaks for all of them. I find his level of arrogance extremely off-putting.

On Purism, there’s a lot of shows that are more interested in praising FOSS and Linux hardware as a concept rather than keeping the space healthy with criticism and giving listeners practical tools to not keep running into brick walls.

When I first joined DLN you amazed me with how much history you knew about Purism so when you say your perspective is different coming from a news background that is a very legitimate statement.

1 Like

Also thank you for covering xrdesktop :slight_smile:

imho xrdesktop is the major player in the room.

If anyone’s interested in more Linux VR desktop stuff i’m keeping a running thread here: