Securely backup files to cloud storage using tar, gnupg, rsync and cron

Introduction

I recently switched to vimwiki for notetaking and wanted to make an encrypted backup of my notes and came up with the following solution. I have since made use of this to backup various other files from my system.

I am not an expert so please feel free to suggest any improvements or corrections.

Requirements

Creating a passphrase

First you will need a passphrase to use for your symmetric encryption. Create a text file containing this passphrase in the first line of the file and save it, I save mine as ~/.gnupg/backup-passphrase. It should be a long random string, I used bitwarden to create this and also save a copy of it there.

Once it is saved I changed the permissions of the file using

chmod 600 ~/.gnupg/backup-passphrase

Archiving and encrypting

I have created a short bash script which does the following

• Creates an archive of the directory /home/trystan/vimwiki
  • Runs this archive through gzip (as text is highly compressible)
  • Pipes the output from tar to gpg
  • Encrypts the archive with AES-256 using the specified passphrase file
  • Saves the encrypted file to a local folder
#!/bin/bash
 tar -czf - \                                                                    
 /home/trystan/vimwiki | \                                                       
 gpg --yes --pinentry-mode loopback \                                            
 --symmetric --cipher-algo AES-256 \                                             
 --passphrase-file /home/trystan/.gnupg/backup-passphrase \                      
 --output /home/trystan/backup/vimwiki.tar.gz.gpg

Sync folder to cloud storage

This script is used to sync my local backup folder to the Dropbox folder.
I use the --checksum option to prevent rsync from copying the file if nothing has changed, as the local file will always have a newer timestamp. This should save bandwidth on uploading the same data.

#!/bin/bash