Scripting file retrieval behind a login?

I have a subscription to a service which provides a weekly report which can only be accessed through my account on the website. Is it possible to script the retrieval of this document with curl or wget? I tried in the past using curl but I couldnt find any examples online that got me close enough to figuring it out.

Anyone have experience with something like this?

When you post your login credentials to the login page via curl, you need to tell curl to use a cookie file so that the SessionID can be stored upon a successful login. That same cookie file (and SessionID) can then be referenced in a subsequent curl command to retrieve your target document.

curl -s https://targetdomain.com/login.html -c cookiefile.txt -d "user=myself&password=secure"
curl -s https://targetdomain.com/data.html -b cookiefile.txt 

Additionally, the user-agent parameter may have to be sufficiently populated to get the HTTP Server to respond with the correct page i.e. tell the server you are a browser

--user-agent "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/99.0.4844.74 Safari/537.36"

HTH

2 Likes

Thanks Mark!

It seems like the first curl command isn’t working as I’d hope. I’ve tried it the way you suggest and then I tried it with the --user <username:password> option. Either way the second command doesn’t retrieve any file. I’ve also tried wget after the first curl command.

wget --load-cookies cookiefile.txt "https://canfax.ca/Report/PDFReport.aspx?catalogue=CurrentWeeklyReport&group=Current&report=Current"

The resulting output is just HTML for the login page so it seems like the authentication step isn’t right as the server just redirects to the login page.

As can be seen in that command the URL doesn’t contain an actual file. The website opens a new tab with that URL and the document is shown in the browser window from which you have to then manually choose to download it.

1 Like