Running osX as a VM

Hello,
I am sorry this is my first post, but …

I work in health care and am being required to work from home.
Does anyone have success running macOS in a vm? Hypothetically.
And If yes, how functional is it?
Can you use usb attached devices? Can you sync data from vm to attached devices? Hypothetically.

Thank you, and again, I am sorry this is my first post but this is a crazy time in the hospital setting right now.

2 Likes

It’s a ROYAL pain in the arse. I’ve only successfully run macOS in a vm on Intel based machines. I’ve also got an intel nuc from 2018 that I successfully turned into a hackintosh but put Linux back on it after a few weeks.

The only things that didn’t work were ‘find my mac’, airdrop and wifi/bluetooth.

There is a snap package for this, that Alan Pope made over on Install Linux apps using the Snap Store | Snapcraft

Forget the name, but I’ll chime back when I find it.

Sosumi is the name.

2 Likes

What version of macOS are you trying to run in a VM?

It’s called Sosumi ?!

Absolutely brilliant Mr. Pope.

Since the Mrs. is running High Sierra, I imagine the easiest, hypothetically, would be that or Catalina.
I have done some research regarding this and I believe I am aware of the prep work needed to get the drg (?) to an iso.
I have just not come across anyone posting their experience. Successes and/or failures. Hypothetically.

Good one @vskye

@MehGyver this install guide might be useful, never used it myself though:

How To Install macOS In A Virtual Machine On Linux Using Sosumi (Snap Package) - Linux Uprising Blog

Sosumi seems like a great suggestion but, if it does not work for you like you want, let me know. My better half has a spare Mac and I could help troubleshoot a different solution if you need.