Programming languages - likes and dislikes

Hmm. Just noticing there’s no developer category to post in… Anyway…

This is partly inspired by the bug-bounty discussion in recent DL show.

Which programming languages do you know quite well and which do you use regularly? Of these which do you like most and like least and why? Are there any languages you’d like to learn and are there any you dislike enough to never want to use really? I’d be interested in your reasons in each case.

My favourite language is Java, which I believe I’ve previously mentioned. My reason is it was the first language I used that had was object oriented, fully documented, and had an extensive standardised library (API) including for GUI programming. I’ve also done significantly sized projects in C++ and C, and know quite a few other languages though I don’t use them anywhere near as much. (For web development, HTML, CSS, JavaScript and PHP with MySQL, obviously.)

1 Like

I studied C++ and OO in college, but I don’t care for compiled languages because my needs were just scripting tasks. After learning the syntax for C++, I picked up perl very quickly and used it for many years, again, just for basic scripting tasks. I consider myself a scripter, but not a full on developer. I’ve played with vbscript back when it was popular, but the lack of things like a sort function kept pulling me back to perl.

Today, I’m using python. I didn’t care for the lack of syntax like end of line terminators, brackets, etc, but I’m learning to live with it. In my current role I am using python to access API’s to gather data and/or integrate applications.

I intend to brush up on shell scripting at some point, but only so that I can read and understand others work. I would always pick python over the shell due to the portability and power.

2 Likes