Open-Source Alternative to Alexa or Google

Looks like an interesting alternative to Alexa or Google Home devices. It’s open-source and privacy respecting. I might have to try it.

4 Likes

Yep, i’ve been keeping an eye on this for a few years now, but i still can’t get myself to actually configuring one. The things it can do for now are not what i need/want.
I’m hoping it will expand as it grows, we’ll see. If you could use it to, for example, stream your music collection through speakers, that would be something.
(Edit: it seems it can do this allready). This seems like a project waiting to happen soon… XD

1 Like

I see that the release candidate is scheduled for the first half of 2022. I’m going to wait for that one to go stable since the current stable build is several years old.

Sounds like a plan. I’ll keep an eye out too. :smiley:

1 Like

I am always interested in a functional, open source, replacement for alexa. I use alexa for one thing: finding things in my garage (personally, I would never put the listening device in my living space). I have dozens of toolboxes and storage containers with thousands of tools and materials. Each drawer is cataloged in alexa for location retrieval.

To find anything, all I have to do is say, “Alexa, do you remember where my torque wrenches are located?” And it responds with “Here is what I found, the torque wrenches are in toolbox number 4 in drawer number 7.” What makes this especially handy is that when one of my sons or friends stops by the garage and needs a tool, all they have to do is ask alexa and she tells them where it’s located. But more importantly, when it comes time to put the tools away, she will tell them where it goes.

I would love to have an open source, self hosted, reliable replacement for that function.

2 Likes

That’s a smart way to organize your tools. It saves the time of reading what could very well be a multiple page printout for a single item just to get its location and where to return it.