New Video Card

I got a new batch of hardware for my birthday, gotta love it, but got an Nvidia RTX 3060 graphics card. It threw me into a tailspin, all my fav distros just locked up. Then I discovered the Nvidia Drivers web page, which told me I needed nvidia-driver-525, not availabe in any distro, except Ubuntu by PPA. Am I right in this? It’s either Ubuntu, or a derivative, or nothing!! Is there any hope for Arch? You can only got rolling with Nouveau?

Ed

Do you mean RTX 3060?

Have you dug through the forum at Nvidia for Arch and the 3060?

Additionally, all is not lost, a path forward may look like running Ubuntu for a few months until a revision is available for you on Arch.

Yes it’s an RTX… Also, with Nvidia drivers, do the they update and change, do I have to stay forever at Nvidia-drivers-525, will the 530 and higher also work?? I am a real noob with Nvidia…

You will not have to stay forever at 525. Improvements and bug-fixes happen regularly.

2 Likes

I run a 3060 ti on both Arch and Debian Works great! just use the propitiatory drivers. Nouveau is a nightmare so avoid it,
Oh and only use X11! Wayland is not ready for Nvidia. (really important)
here is an easy distro for Nvidia cards
https://iso.pop-os.org/22.04/amd64/nvidia/24/pop-os_22.04_amd64_nvidia_24.iso

1 Like

The Arch wiki says to Avoid using the Nvidia website drivers then goes on to say you can use pacman hooks to automatically compile Nvidia modules, is that how you manage that?

1 Like

Well I had some fun in vanilla Arch today, I installed it on a spare drive, used nvidia-all, and it installed drivers correctly for my linux and xanmod kernels, and I was able to game nicely. It wasn’t a few days ago, that I did the same thing with only a xanmod kernel and after using nvidia-all, the computer would not boot…

Whats the secret? God only knows…my hardware is finicky…

1 Like