Needed a bit of Help to bring Liva to life

Hi Micheal, Jill and Ryan and now the entire Community,

I’m Prashanth from Bangalore, India. I’ve been listening to the Destination Linux Podcast from about a year or so. I must say - I’m hooked. In this mail - I’ll be raising some issues. I hope you’ll be kind enough to cover my Journey with linux (and also highlight some of the issues I’ve mentioned) - in one of your future Episodes.

My Linux journey…

First, a couple of words about myself - I have had Cerebral Palsy since birth. I’m a Commerce Graduate from the University of Mumbai. I have difficulties in doing most tasks (including using Computers). I type with just one finger. For the most part, I have trouble in using the mouse. And I also have problems with my Speech and Eyesight.

Yet, despite all my problems - I’ve been working with Mindtree Ltd. (one of India’s leading Mid Sized IT Companies) for well over 13 years now. If you do decide to feature my story - I think it could inspire other people like myself (people with disabilities) to take the Linux journey - pretty much like myself.

Anyway, my Linux journey started way back in 1999 (round about the same time as Micheal). I got my first PC (a Pentium with MMX Technology) in Apr 1998. Understandably it came pre-loaded with the ‘famed’ Windows 95. About a year down the line, one day I noticed that my PC just wouldn’t turn on. Since the computer was under warranty - we were able to return the system and get a replacement. Later we learnt that we were hit by the Chernobyl (CIH) Virus - and this despite having taken all necessary precautions to stop / curb viruses.