Linux Mint 19.3, GNOME, Purism, Life is Strange 2, FUSE Goes Closed Source | Destination Linux 153

6 Likes

Stool tribbles!! They detect Klingons, why didn’t Ryan and Zeb have a stool?

1 Like

Thanks for discussing Linux Mint 19.3 and at least somewhat addressing comments in the past that suggested Mint had disqualifying security vulnerabilities.

GIMP vs DRAWING
My daughter is a university trained graphic artist who taught Photoshop at the University after graduating. GIMP and Photoshop are powerful and competent programs. I’m not a graphic artist and her efforts to introduce me to how I could use layers to edit my photos, whether in GIMP or Photoshop, never took. I take pics to share around informally, and found I only used GIMP because of its ability to recognize photos taken on my phone that need rotation adjusted to email correctly. I much preferred the simpler Pinta which has a handy one click adjustment which will often correct white balance. Pinta seems, sadly, to be abandonware. I’m looking forward to trying Drawing when I upgrade my machines to 19.3 from 19.2 After all, GIMP is only a click-away to install, and I believe this comment from the “New Features” summary of 19.3 is quite accurate: “Gimp is an excellent application but it has a very steep learning curve and its user interface is quite intimidating for novice users.”

TimeShift
@zebedee.boss