I haven't created a swap partition, should I add one?

First up, I’m a filthy dual booter, please don’t judge me.
Mainly because of gaming and my work, most clients currently adopt a lot of the m$oft stack
I’ve been mucking about with linux for the last 18 months and I’ve been enjoying Manjaro on this machine for the last 6 months.

I have an NVME drive which is partitioned :

1. NTFS recovery partition for W
  2. EFI /boot/efi
  3. NTFS for Windoesn’t
  4. EXT4 for manjaro /

The Manjaro /home is mounted on another spinning disc

What I’ve noticed is that I’ve allocated a lot of space for the 4. root partition and its not really being used at all. there’s about 15 GB used out of the 244G available… I am thinking I should just boot to live, run Gparted, shrink the / partition and add a swap of 30GB at the end, then add an entry to FSTAB,

Is that all I need to do?

I have two x 8GB sticks of DDR4, so it’s reasonably beefy. I remember hearing/listening about still needing /recommending to still have a swap partition just in case.
Is this general consensus? OR should I just leave it be?

my beast:
$ inxi -a
CPU: 8-Core AMD Ryzen 7 2700X (-MT MCP-) speed/min/max: 2027/2200/3700 MHz Kernel: 4.19.69-1-MANJARO x86_64 Up: 4d 21h 02m
Mem: 9194.6/16030.6 MiB (57.4%) Storage: 3.87 TiB (3.0% used) Procs: 368 Shell: bash 5.0.9 inxi: 3.0.36

I’ve not got any real big use cases, this is my home office PC. On Manjaro I’m likely to be:

• running some VM’s - other distros
  • tinkering with python, HTML CSS;
  • minecraft, steam games;
  • testing/exploring FOSS software; and
  • the odd video rendering job to help my partner in her work

I’ve not had any problems, just looking for advice or general consensus on the use of Swap partitions.
I’m kinda also looking to tinker :slight_smile:
Cheers
Scooter

3 Likes