Doubtful of how much data Google keeps on you?

I found a link to where you can see everything Google has been recording on our about you and I’m shocked, especially at the voice recordings and reported activities that are nothing to do with any of Google’s projects.

https://myactivity.google.com/myactivity

You have to be logged into Google in for it to work, but it has changed the way that look at my phone.

9 Likes

Yep… they’re as nosy as I thought they were.

1 Like

This is why I’m trying to de-google my life.

1 Like

Absolutely! What’s surprising to me is how much people don’t care about this. I showed it to my wife and she was very mildly interested to see what they had on her, but it didn’t bother her in the slightest. She essentially thought it was cool that they could do that so she’d see ads tailored for her when browsing.

My wife had the opposite reaction. Deleted her personal Gmail immediately.

2 Likes

I’m an experienced sysadmin, and decided to run my own server. Only way to know my data is mine alone.

I considered it, but didn’t go through with it – at least not yet. I have a domain name (currently not in use), and thought about setting up a DO droplet for mail and Nextcloud. I am not an experienced sysadmin, more of an advanced user. I have some experience with setting up and maintaining other types of servers (HTTP, DNS, SQL) that I’ve used for various projects over the years, but the “word on the street” is that you should really know what you’re doing before tackling a mail server.

As an experienced sysadmin, what do you think?

Email is hard. If you don’t have the experience of running one, I’d recommend against it. If you want to run one just to get experience, and not use it for anything real, go for it. It’s always good to gain experience.

If you don’t have the time to dedicate to building a real secure email server and maintain it, you are better off using a provider like proton mail.

1 Like