Dnf btrfs snapshots with Timeshift in Fedora

Hi,

I am a developer of timeshift-autosnap-apt which runs before any update|install|remove command on Ubuntu, and works particularly well with btrfs.

I would like to have the same for Fedora 33 on btrfs, which requires changing the names of the subvolumes as I have outlined here:

Now timeshift works fine, but I was wondering if anyone knows how to implement a “DPkg::Pre-Invoke hook” in dnf? Or something similar to a Pacman trigger, but in dnf?
The idea is that when one runs a dnf update or upgrade command, timeshift should automatically create a btrfs snapshot.

2 Likes

Since your timeshift-autosnap-apt app does some really low-level, crucial things for the OS (including interfacing with grub itself, to allow booting from older BTRFS subvols), I would personally far prefer that you focus on making it ultra-stable, and ultra-reliable, squashing any and all bugs that might arise, before expanding your scope and moving into Redhat territory.

Can you demonstrate that your tool holds up under various forms of torture testing, like a laptop’s battery running out, right in the middle of some crucial operation?

How “atomic” are the crucial operations performed, such that they can gracefully be resumed/repeated again, if interrupted?