Destination Linux 167: Interview with Philip of Manjaro & Vinzenz of Tuxedo Computers

Watch on LBRY or YouTube:

4 Likes

Still waiting on the LBRY notification. Are they having issues also?

I can’t see it on LBRY either.

LBRY has a filesize limit of 2GB max on the sync and this week and last week were both around 2.5GB. I tried to upload last week’s to LBRY many many times throughout the week and it never worked. I have to try and figure out a permanent solution for this.

1 Like

I am new to it, and did not realize it had that limitation. That is going to be a real killer for the site.

Probably not workable, but there’s an open-source video conferencing software from Jitsi (Jitsi Meet) which seems like it might work as a Zoom alternative.

1 Like

Already solved it :smiley:

166 on LBRY & 167 on LBRY

It’s not workable because it is very limited in options for our workflow but also it requires Chromium/Google Chrome and I really really hate when sites do that so on principle it created an arbitrary barrier for me.

1 Like

Did you have to reduce the size/resolution?

Have you looked into Apache Open Meeting?

Unfortunate, yes. But that’s the byproduct of agreeing on API standards (in this case a subset of WebRTC that Quantum/Gecko and Blink can’t see eye-to-eye on), not so much a decision to create arbitrary barriers by Jitsi.

Though I suppose, they could have changed the product to focus more on compatibility rather than on feature parity with proprietary software. Who knows why those decisions come to bear though :woman_shrugging:

I reduced the filesize, not the resolution. I had to transcode it and upload separately. I have to do it again today for DL168.

No, I have not tested this. We tested MANY options yesterday and all of them fell short in one way or another . . . some in many ways.

Turns out it totally is. If you self-host Jitsi and test it then you can use Firefox just fine but using their demo it tells you Chrome is required.