About Yandex Browser

Hi there,

I use Firefox as my default, but sometimes certain websites seem to not work well on Firefox, almost like, purposely.

So I want to ask how reliable is Yandex browser as a fallback, is it worse than Chrome itself? or Opera?

I am not a coder, I cannot smell bad code if it slap me in the face. So, what are you using as fallback, if you needed one.

Cheers.

My personal opinion is to not use anything Chrome/Chromium based (Especially that Chinese owned Spyware, Opera Browser). Reason being, it is owned/controlled by Google. Some of those web sites which you may be having issues is because over 90% of browser usage is on Chromium based browsers. Do you really want to give Google that much power over the web?

Some will say “but muh open source!” The problem with that idea is while, yes it can be forked, the issue comes up when Google pushes a change. Those Chromium forks still have to identify themselves as Chromium. So when Google pushes a change on Chromium, the web site developers will adapt to that change. If the forks do not follow, their browsers will either start to show broken sites, or saying they do not support their browser.

Switching over will just make things worse. If you got a problem with a site, complain to the webmaster, or the company.

My advice would to be use forks of Firefox. Reason being is Mozilla has started politicizing their add-on store.

My backup browser is either brave or chromium. I prefer Brave, but for some reason ended up using chromium for facebook only.

But, yes, it’s really weird that one of the most popular websites on the world doesn’t work at all on second most popular browser engine.

It’s not the engine itself. The problem with forked browsers is they have to follow the changes of the source. If they don’t they can become broken. In this case Google controls it. The site developers will of course follow, and use those changes which come from Google