281: Linux Alternatives to Adobe Photoshop, Premiere Pro, Illustrator & more

5 Likes

One thing to mention is that with next version of GIMP 2.10.32 a native support for CMYK color space is coming: https://twitter.com/zemarmot/status/1533801286663081989

2 Likes

This is great and important so it’s a good thing to see but this is a less important feature in the scope of professionals. The Non-Destructive Workflow is the most important piece missing from GIMP before Focused Professionals will consider it. I know they are working on this part as well to some degree and that’s great but until it happens, it’s not really even in the discussion.

I am new to the design space and I must say that it’s easier to learn adobe because of all the tutorials out there. I wish there were more tutorials on how to accomplish similar tasks on the FOSS solutions. I don’t do too much graphic design or photo editing, I am mainly talking about Blender as an After Effects substitute.

Tools like penpot, figma, etc. are also super helpful to replace things like xD and Ai.

2 Likes

Here are some late thoughts after watching the episode entirely (OK not entirely…).

I agree that GIMP is fantastic, but lacks important features. I use GIMP since 13 years and longer. To me something else very important is missing for a general purpose image editing software: Easy to use tools to create shapes!! GIMP even understands vector data and stores them as Paths, so a vector shape tool could be implemented with Paths in the background.

And something that isn’t mentioned that often, but I think is very cool in Photoshop (never used it, just read about it), is the ability to quickly and easily record and playback macros. This can help to create quickly some time saving actions and replay them whenever needed, without programming or time consuming testing. Is that still a thing in Photoshop? Last time I used Photoshop was in mid 2000s on a cracked Windows XP a cracked Photoshop…