Which CPU to buy, Ryzen 2700x or 3600x?

So after many moons, I’m planning on building a new system. However I am torn on which CPU I should opt for.

My usage is basically “normal” computing with almost no AAA gaming (as they’re not available on Linux). I’m not really a content producer or do anything serious with my home computer (which makes me wonder if I should bother with the additional cores of the 2700x)

To that end, what would you guys recommend? I can get the 2700x for $50 cheaper than a 3600x (so that’s a plus), but I’m wondering if the IPC and low power improvements (and other stuff) give the advantage to the 3600x.

I’d be interested in hearing people’s opinions of what they recommend. Is there something fundamentally better about the 3600x that means I should completely ignore the 2700x?

My question would be do you really need an unlocked processor? That’s what the X suffix means, you can overclock it.

Other then that, I have a 2700, and have yet to run into any problems or performance issues, and I do play many AAA games (on Linux only). I also dabble in audio and video editing, but mainly I’m a DevOps sysadmin.

I’d recommend the 3600 myself, as the next gen goodness is a factor for me personally, but the 2700 still performs extremely well.

Thanks for the feedback; the reason I’m looking at the X’s is because they’re competively priced. I can find the 2700x for $150 (haven’t looked for 2700); and the 3600x is only $10 more than the 3600.

Hmm…so you don’t think the $50 savings and gaining 2 cores and 4 threads is worth it then? Again consdiering that most AAA games can get 100+ fps with the 2700x (and I only have a 60 hz monitor)

Have yet to find a game that uses more then 4 cores, and usually only one of them is pegged.

In all honesty, can’t go wrong with either one.

FWIW: