What is the best Arch distribution

Hi,

I have been using Kubuntu or Ubuntu for most of my 15 years in using Linux. I want to try something different and like the idea of having more updated applications.

What is the best Arch based distribution for someone coming from Kubuntu? I use Plasma and like to think of myself as an intermediate Linux user, but do not have a lot of time to fix issues.

In my quick reading EndeavorOS seems like a good choice to try first. They promote a good community and it looks like a distribution that tries to be like Arch, but easier to setup. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

I am currently on EndeavourOS and have been for almost a year now. I chose Cinnamon because I don’t like KDE or GNOME at all. The best distro, the best anything is the one you like best and what meets your needs. Nobody can tell you that except yourself. I will say though that I haven’t had any issues on EndeavourOS. I update everyday using YAY. Honestly I would miss the AUR if I ever switched back to Fedora or anything else none Ubuntu. This is what I am running:

1 Like

I think Endeavor or Manjaro are good first Arch distros.

2 Likes

I have used Manjaro a bit and mostly enjoy it. But at times it feels a bit too heavy, that it automatically installs everything.

The whole advantage of Arch is that you can trim it down to the stuff you need, and I think Manjaro looses this in trying to be all things to all people.

Why use a Arch distro over Ubuntu or Fedora if you aren’t taking advantage of its strengths.

Intending to give Endeavour OS a go. Hoping Endeavour runs a bit lighter.

Personally I don’t bother with arch based distros and just use arch.
I don’t find the install that complicated and if you don’t distrohop you don’t need to do it again.
(Barring critical failures)