VPS to host Ubuntu and LibreOffice. newbie

I want to use LibreOffice Writer ver 7.1.3 (latest version) online. I’m not much of a techie. I did a little research and looks like using a Kimsufi VPS is the cheapest way to go (about $3.50/mo). I want to use my VPS for running Ubuntu and LibreOffice Writer and nothing else. I’m sure some of you know a lot more about tech and can suggest a better solution that’s also cheap. Remember I’m a newbie so I’ll have a steep learning curve as I learn how to set up Ubuntu on a VPS. I’ve never done anything like this before. I did some searching but did not find a video on how to set up a VPS on Kimsufi. Thx.**

It’s not quite as cheap as Kimsufi but did you look at Shells.com?

That would be the easiest way to setup what you want. There was an interview with the Shells creators back on DL227.

2 Likes

It’s a good suggestion, but the shells.com basic account is limited to 10hrs/mo which won’t work for me. I did hear the interview. You’re right, it looks to be an easier setup on shells. But I did a little research and looks like setting up a simple Ubuntu server VPS with Libreoffice is not too hard. I’ll find out soon. Thanks. :slightly_smiling_face:

This shouldn’t be too difficult as long as you’re familiar with CLI. Connect with ssh -X to the vps and it will act as the X server, run libreoffice through this SSH session and the vps will serve the GUI to your desktop.

2 Likes

@Ethanol I looked over the OVH online docs and the process doesn’t look too bad. I’ve never messed with CLIs so I’ll have a learning curve. I’m hoping the docs don’t assume a lot of prior knowledge about CLIs, etc.

My brother says that when he gets time he may set up a little host for me on his own server so I can access LibreOffice Writer (latest version) online.