(solved) Ubuntu. Question re upgrading from ext4 to to btrfs

Noob here. I’m currently using Ubuntu 21.04 with ext4 on an internal 2TB nvme drive (AMD Ryzen with no dual boot). I want to upgrade to 21.10 with btrfs. I’m assuming I need to totally wipe out 21.04 and do a clean install of 21.10 in order to go from ext4 to btrfs. If this assumption is wrong, let me know.

I’ll first do a Clonezilla clone of my main hard drive to an external drive, just in case. Also I’ll have multiple backups of all my user files (FeeFileSync and Restic).

I’ll have Ubuntu 21.10 loaded onto a USB stick ready to install. I’ll select btrfs during the 21.10 install process.

What else do I need to do to help assure this upgrade goes smoothly? I’m a newbie and very much a beginner with Linux. I have very very limited knowledge of the command line. What are the common problems that arise when doing this kind of upgrade?

Yes, you need to reinstall completely to be able to use btrfs. Then it should be all good after you select btrfs from the installer. I am just not sure how far Ubuntu’s implementation of btrfs goes. For example openSUSE and Fedora use btrfs by default whereas Ubuntu uses ext4. So you have to enable it at install time.

Does this mean that Ubuntu has a reputation of many problems and bugs and crashes when run with btrfs? Does this mean that Ubuntu is not really designed or poorly designed to work with btrfs?

Others may have had different experiences and although I have never, yet, used btrfs on a desktop machine my home server is running Ubuntu Server 20.04 with btrfs and has been very reliable.

I’ve even had a couple of disk failures (not both at once :wink: ) and btrfs recovered easily enough after replacing the failed drive.

Not that I know of. I think Ubuntu is just fine, btrfs is just not the default. That is all. Try it out and see for yourself.