Open source coding / security

I just came across this article in Slashdot.

I’m not a coder, so i have a question about this. If someone writes code for an application, he or she doesn’t know how the code could be abused? Or does one have a “general” idea, but not an exact?
Again, i don’t know how to write code in any language, so if somebody could explain this, i could learn something new.

I’m not a security expert but this is my perspective as a security hobbiest…

Security is a completely separate field that sits on top of knowing how to code and even the most security conscious devs are totally inadequate at doing security. It’s an entirely different mindset in a constantly evolving field requiring specialized tools, obscure information and being well tied in.

That isn’t to say devs shouldn’t do their best but it’s hard to fault them for not wanting to split their time between totally separate paths even if they’re complimentary. That and people tend to suck at paths they’re not interested in. If i’d take a swing at what the general rules for devs should be…

• Seek out and follow security best practices designed for devs to read.
  • Open source your code
  • Keep code quantity minimal (incl’ what’s in your libraries / dependencies)
  • Make everything as readable as possible.
  • Encourage people in security to engage with your project and foster a mutual relationship of respect. Know that if sec had their way.. no project=no vuln. and if devs had their way it’d be a tower of swiss cheese on top of 10,000 barely maintained or abandoned dependencies.