Hello from Europe

Hello everyone, I am Alex from Europe, I work as a data scientist in an R&D institute based in Europe. I am Linux data scientist by day, Linux gamer by night (technically I game at work if I get the time). I am big fan of the show for years, always avoid social media, but I make exceptions for forums and communities that are Linux (since based on my experience in Linux) Linux communities always rock.
I always wanted to join online Linux communities, but never found the time, now I found the time to do it.

I use 99% Linux (Router,IoT, Phone, PC +1% Legacy BSD like Endian firewall) and 99% FOSS (maybe 1% of games are not FOSS). My work Linux is RedHat/CentOS/Fedora for the past 10years, currently Fedora + Fedora Silverblue and CentOS NextCloud server, home entertainment PC is arch manjaro.
Over the years I have tried almost all linux version, debian, suse, gentoo, arch, nixos, red hat ent. linux.
Red Hat based always works great for my work and I plan to stick with it over the years to come.

My company is fully FOSS and I even converted few friends from mac and windosw to Linux (I used to recommend Fedora at first, then ubuntu/elementary and Linux Mint, now I recommend Arch Manjaro).
I have joined discord, I will probably join matrix riot iM, but I am not sure about telegram (no SIM to join).

I am not really a Linux expert, I just have experience as Linux telecom sysadmin and university lecturer in operating systems and internet technologies. I am a regular Linux power user + Linux gamer, but I am expert in using Linux for research and in the data science so I am happy to share the my knowledge.

EDIT: thanks for the welcome wishes apologies that I cannot reply their is a limit as new user about number of posts, so I have a post freeze (cannot reply to a post or make a post) for the next 24 hours.

I am glad I joined this wonderful community, wishing everyone a great day and weekend ahead.
Regards, Ari

5 Likes