DLN Xtend 17: FreeOffice, Kdenlive, AMD Vulnerability, Opensource.Builders, L4E Alan Pope Interview

2 Likes

I see we’re on the same wavelength about the UI on FreeOffice. My first thought when I looked at it was, “How has Microsoft not sued over this?” Haha.

1 Like

It does seem impossible for them to have so closely replicated it and not be challenged but maybe there’s some loophole. I really don’t know.

Funny enough, FreeOffice was annoying me in some way that I can’t quite remember at the moment so I went back and took a look at the tabbed view option in LibreOffice and it is better (for me) than the standard “all the buttons” approach.

1 Like

I use LibreOffice for such a long time and exclusively, I cannot even imagine using something else and I use it for work, I mean I need it for work. So I have no experience with other office suites and do not even try them.

I might be in the minority but I cannot remember anymore how Microsoft’s suite looked or works. I only used it briefly more than ten years ago and not professionally. In reality I grew up with LibreOffice already installed on my Windows machine before moving to Linux.

2 Likes

That’s what I assumed. You get used to what you know and other things seem foreign. LibreOffice is an amazing accomplishment for open source and deserves to be recognized as something other than a “free” alternative to MS Office. It’s unfortunate that interoperability has been such a sticking point for them. I can only assume they’ve spent far too much time dealing with that nonsense over the years.

1 Like

Ihave just started using only office with nextcloud hub (18). So simple to set up.It means me and my partner no longer need to use google docs for collaborative editing. It does miss some features for which I’d use libreoffice. But I wouldn’t really be using these in a collaborative doc. I’d tried to set up libreoffice online with collabora before but I was too much of a noob! :crazy_face:

2 Likes