Destination Linux 187: The Future of Computing with Jill Bryant Ryniker

5 Likes

This occurred to me during the treasure huntā€¦ what does Jill have right now thatā€™s going to blow everyoneā€™s mind in 20 years?

@dasgeek
The Ghost recommendation was a big deal, thank you.

I didnā€™t say this last episode but I played UO on Siege Perilous after a month on Sonoma. Iā€™ll never forget my first dayā€¦ I ran to the newbie graveyard to level up, got stunned and bolted to death the millisecond I left guard protection, the guy said ā€œWelcome to Seigeā€.

Classic.

2 Likes

Iā€™m listening to this episode and I have a few comments. :slight_smile:

I use Bitwarden, and I should really go for the premium option to support them.

Regarding the alternative ways to interact with computers in the future I have my opinion.
I work in the accessibility field, so I often have to find alternative ways to control a PC for our users.

One of the most popular ones these days, which is for people that canā€™t use their hands, is Eye Controlling. This is a module that can be connected to a PC via USB, which requires some special nonfree software, and can be used to control the interface just by looking at it. So if you want to open Firefox, you look at the firefox icon and it will click it after a set time.

But I have also been to conferences where they demo other ways.
One was an implant in your mouth, where you had mouse and keyboard controls that you controlled with the tip of your tongue, by the help of a tongue piercing.
Another, which is far more interesting, is controlling the PC with your mind. Yes. With thought! I saw this demoā€™d a couple of years back. It involved putting electrode thingies on varies places of your head, and it would register what you where thinking of doing on the PC. The demo only included a on screen keyboard, but the user just thought of letters and it would activate those letters on the keyboard.